"Sharing is good", says YouTube product manager Brian Glick as the site announces a new feature that will automatically share uploaded YouTube vids with various social networking services.

With a "simple one-time log-in" on YouTube's upload page, users can now have their YouTube account automatically update their Facebook friends, Twitter followers, and Google Reader shared items when they upload a video.

By connecting Facebook, Twitter and Google Reader accounts to a YouTube profile, the YouTuber's followers will be notified with an automatically generated message (apparently for Twitter, it's along the lines of "I uploaded a YouTube video - 'name' 'link'") to alert them to fresh content.

And for videos users would rather not highlight, there's a mark as private option that will mean no message sent out to say its gone live.