Pocket-lint is supported by its readers. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

(Pocket-lint) - Sonos held a special event on Tuesday 9 March 2021 that was livestreamed through the company's press website.

The speaker company has been the subject of numerous rumours over the last couple of months, with both headphones and a new smaller Bluetooth speaker rumoured.

But, it's the latter that was the main focus, with the new Sonos Roam speaker launched.

Here's everything you need to know about the Sonos Special Event, how you can watch it and what happened.

When is the Sonos special event and what time?

The Sonos special event took place at 9pm GMT, Tuesday 9 March 2021. Here are the times for your location:

  • West Coast US: 1pm PST
  • East Coast US: 4pm EST
  • UK: 9pm GMT
  • Central Europe: 10pm CET

How to watch the Sonos special event

You can watch the Sonos special event at Sonos.press

What happened at the Sonos Special Event?

Sonos announced the Sonos Roam, an ultra-portable Bluetooth speaker that will sit alongside the Sonos Move. It is the smallest Sonos speaker available, as well as the smartest, packing a number of features under its hood.

SonosSonos Roam event: How to watch it and what launched photo 2

Roam can automatically switches between Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, designed to offer a seamless listening experience when moving from outside to inside and vice-versa. It has a 10-hour battery life, and it comes with a choice of Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa, as well as other features like Apple AirPlay 2.

The Roam also offer Automatic TruePlay tuning and a new feature called Sound Swap that you can read all about in our separate feature. You can read all about Sonos Roam's price, availability and features in our dedicated feature.

For all the Sonos news, visit Pocket-lint's hub here.

Best speakers for PC gamers 2021: All the sound and RGB lighting you could ever need

Writing by Britta O'Boyle. Originally published on 17 February 2021.