Xiaomi has confirmed it will host a media briefing on the eve of Mobile World Congress 2019

The company, which recently came to the UK, has had a relatively quiet start to the year, and we suspect it'll want to shake things up while in Barcelona. It will launch a couple handsets, including a 5G one. Here's what you need to know.

What is Xiaomi's event?

Xiaomi will hold its MWC 2019 press event in Barcelona on Sunday 24 February.

What time does Xiaomi's event start?

Xiaomi's MWC 2019 press event starts at 10:30am local time. Here are the various times for around the globe:

  • 3pm New Delhi
  • 12:30pm Moscow
  • 10:30am Barcelona
  • 9:30am London
  • 4:30am New York
  • 1:30am California

How to watch Xiaomi's event online

You can watch a live stream of the show from the video above, or using one of the links mentioned in the tweet below.

What to expect from Xiaomi at MWC 2019

The company used its conference to launch a number of products

Mi Mix 3 5G

The company has formally launched its first 5G smartphone, the Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 5G.

Pocket-lintXiaomi Mi Mix 3 UK price confirmed as £449 available from 16 January image 1

The device, which was on the Qualcomm stand at CES 2019, will be Xiaomi's next-gen phone and have a Qualcomm Snapdragon X50 modem inside, and upgraded from the original Mi Mix 3, the new Snapdragon 855 processor. 

XiaomiXiaomi Mi 9 image 1

Mi 9

Xiaomi will also show off the Mi 9. Although the phone already debuted in China, Xiaomi now officially sells in Western markets, so we'll see the full global launch of the Mi 9. The phone features a 48-megapixel camera at the back and a Snapdragon 855 processor, among other things.

Other products 

The company also used it's press conference to launch a new 20W wireless charger that promises to recharge your phone in 90minutes, and a connected Wi-Fi smart light bulb, the Mi LED Light bulb. The bulb, which will go up against Philips Hue will offer 16 million colours and cost 29,99 Euros in Europe. 

No Foldable phone

The company didn't as expected, show off a prototype of Xiaomi's folding phone on the stage. We will keep you posted. 

ee.co.uk - PAY MONTHLY PHONES The Samsung Galaxy S10+ is now available on EE who have been awarded the UK’s best network for the fifth year running. RootMetrics tested the four UK networks and EE was faster and more reliable than all of them, with better data performance. Their network has come a long way since they launched in 2012. Back then they had 11 UK cities covered by 4G. Today they cover most of the UK’s land mass, thanks to 19,000 state-of-the-art 4G sites. They’ve got faster, too – from 50Mbps to a maximum speed of 400Mbps. And they’re soon to experience even greater possibilities with the launch of 5G.

Sections Phones Xiaomi