Three has extended the number of countries its mobile customers can use their phones without incurring additional roaming charges. Users of Three's Feel At Home incentive can now use the internet, text and call from France, Switzerland, Israel, Finland and Norway using their existing minutes, text and data allowances.

The five new countries join the 11 formerly announced countries where Feel At Home is in operation. This includes the US, Australia and Italy.

The Feel At Home scheme is available for all Three customers - as long as they have been with the network for more than 30 days. That includes customers on pay as you go or mobile broadband as well as pay monthly plans.

"Roaming charges are a rip-off and Three is tackling the issue head-on. We haven’t just reduced charges; we’ve now scrapped them in 16 destinations, making it fairer, easier and more enjoyable to use your phone abroad," said Dave Dyson, chief executive at Three.

"The addition of five more countries, including France, to Feel At Home is another big step and one that marks our determination to eliminate roaming rates full-stop."

Feel At Home automatically activates as soon as Three customers' phones detect that they are in a participating region.