Pocket-lint is supported by its readers. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

(Pocket-lint) - Sony typically announces its latest crop of Xperia smartphones at MWC Barcelona in late February and then more at IFA Berlin in Setember. For 2021 however, the company announced both the Xperia 1 III 5G and the Xperia 1 III 5G at a Spring event, followed by the Xperia 10 III devices a little later, meaning the usual release cycle has been slighty different.

A new Xperia product is on the horizon though, with Sony announcing an event in October. 

When is the Sony Xperia event?

The Japanese brand will hold an event on Tuesday 26 October 2021 at 12:00 JST. Here are the different local times:

  • San Francisco - 20:00 PDT, 25 Oct
  • New York - 23:00 EDT, 25 Oct
  • London - 04:00 BST
  • Berlin - 05:00 CEST
  • Tokyo - 12:00 JST
  • Sydney - 14:00 AEDT

How can you watch the Sony Xperia event?

Sony has confirmed it will host a stream for the event via the Sony Xperia YouTube account. It is embedded at the top of this page.

What to expect from the Sony Xperia event

Sony hasn't confirmed which devices it will unveil, but given its flagship and mid-ranger smartphones were all unusually announced at the beginning of the year, it's difficult to guess what the company has planned for the event.

We haven't seen a tablet from Sony for a while - since 2015 when the Xperia Z4 Tablet arrived - so a successor to that waterproof slab could be one thing to place a bet on. It could also be an entirely new smartphone of course, one that doesn't fall into the company's current three ranges, though given those ranges were introduced to simplify things, this would be a little strange. 

Motorola's new Moto G9 Plus is a stunner of a phone - find out why, right here

For now, it's anyone's guess.

Writing by Maggie Tillman. Editing by Chris Hall. Originally published on 22 February 2018.