Snapdragon Summit is held annually, giving Qualcomm the chance to talk about its Snapdragon hardware, to announce and showcase the tech that will be in smartphones and other devices in 2020 and beyond. 

For the third year it is being held in Maui, Hawaii, bringing together a global tech audience - but also livestreaming the three main keynote events, so that you can watch along at home. We have embedded that livestream at the top of the page so you can watch along.

When is Snapdragon Summit 2019? 

Snapdragon Summit is running from 3-5 December and there will be a keynote speech on each of those dates. The first keynote updated on 5G and announced the Snapdragon 865 and Snapdragon 765 - with more detailed information delivered on day 2. The final day is going to move onto Windows on Snapdragon and mixed reality.

Those keynote speeches start at 9am HST:

  • San Francisco - 11am
  • New York - 2pm
  • London - 7pm
  • Berlin - 8pm
  • New Delhi - 12:30am 4 Dec
  • Tokyo - 4am 4 Dec
  • Sydney - 6am 4 Dec

What to expect from Snapdragon Summit

Qualcomm Snapdragon 865

Over the past few years Qualcomm has used Snapdragon Summit to launch its flagship Snapdragon platform - the Snapdragon 845 in 2017, the 855 in 2018 - so it's no surprise that Qualcomm announced the Snapdragon 865.

The Snapdragon 865 is designed to work with the X55 modem, it has boosted AI, supports even higher resolution cameras and promises to beat the Snapdragon 855 in all areas - and power the smartphones of 2020. We've already had confirmation that ZTE, Xiaomi and Oppo will be among the first to launch 865 devices, with Xiaomi saying that the Mi 10 would be one of the first devices.

Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 & 765G

Beyond the flagship experience, Qualcomm has also announced the Snapdragon 765 and 765G (the G stands for gaming). These platforms will offer integrated 5G from the X52 modem, but deliver the experience to a lower tier, with the aim of bringing 5G to billions of users who can't afford a top tier device.

Nokia has confirmed that it will be launching an affordable 5G phone in 2020 to do just that and Oppo is launching the Reno3 Pro in China running the new hardware. Not all the details about the platforms have been announced, but there will be more to follow.

Other hardware advances

We've seen other hardware platforms from Qualcomm discussed in the past at Snapdragon Summit - the company also has PC hardware, mixed reality hardware, audio hardware and a whole lot more. 

But Qualcomm is also teasing that there's going to be some gaming-related news, having tweeted that a special guest is going to be helping with the big reveal.

We'll bring you all the news from Snapdragon Summit as it happens.

AT&T Shop for cell phones, prepaid phones and cell phone plans at AT&T Wireless. AT&T is a wireless telecommunications company providing coverage to millions of customers in the U.S. AT&T offers exclusive products from Apple, Nokia, Sharp, Sony, LG, Moto, Samsung and other manufacturers. The cellular company remains a favourite of consumers who like its sharp voice quality and discounts on cell phone plans.