(Pocket-lint) - UPDATE: The OnePlus Nord has now launched - check out our OnePlus Nord initial review: The affordable OnePlus returns

OnePlus is launching a new series of smartphones called 'Nord'. As things stand, it looks as though only one new phone is being announced now. 

The first phone - simply called OnePlus Nord - is going to be unveiled today and the launch is a little less straightforward than usual. 

Here are details on how to watch the event live and what to expect.

When is the OnePlus Nord series launch? 

The launch is kicking off at 15:00 BST UK time today, 21 July 2020. Below you'll find a handful of other timezones, so be sure to mark your calendar and follow the steps below for how to actually watch the event:

  • New York - 10:00 EDT
  • San Francisco - 07:00 PDT
  • Central Europe - 16:00 CEST
  • New Delhi - 07:30 IST
  • Tokyo - 23:00 JST 
  • Sydney - 00:00 AEST 15 April

How to watch the event

Unlike most phone launches, OnePlus is going for something a bit different with the OnePlus Nord. The smartphone is going to launch in AR, which essentially means either downloading an Android or iPhone app or viewing it through your browser on your smartphone. The easiest way will be to download the app: 

If you want to watch through your browser, you need to head to Nord.OnePlus.com/NordAR

Pocket-lint

When you first launch the app, it'll ask you if you want to set up a personal avatar, so you can choose your hairstyle, facial hair, eyes, mouth and skin tone. Once that's done, it'll ask for permission to use your camera, then warn you that you'll need a strong Wi-Fi signal and that it'd be best to use headphones. 

Pocket-lint

After that, you launch the viewing page which uses your camera and AR to scan the area and place a virtual launch event stage on your desk, table, floor.. or wherever you happen to be. The alternative is that you can watch Unbox Therapy's live stream, embedded above for your convenience. 

What to expect from the OnePlus Nord launch

Thanks to the usual OnePlus style of pre-launch teasing, there's very little we don't know about the phone already. We've seen the design, heard camera specs and a lot more. You can find out all the details in our dedicated feature

It's confirmed the phone will have the Snapdragon 765G processor inside, plus 5G support and that it'll cost less than $500 USD (around £400). Leaks have shown an all-glass phone, but one with a slightly different camera design and colour scheme to the OnePlus 8 series. 

It's going to feature a quad-camera system on the back, with so-called 'flagship' camera as its primary snapper, and that's rumoured to be joined by an ultra-wide, macro and depth sensor. 

We'll find out all the other details in the launch, so stay tuned.

Writing by Cam Bunton. Editing by Dan Grabham.