(Pocket-lint) - With EE the first network to launch 5G in the UK, the carrier is celebrating with a gig from grime artist Stormzy. It is live on 29 May to celebrate the official launch of EE's 5G network which goes live on 30 May.

The new 5G EE service will offer a range of handsets with the super-fast connectivity connecting six of the UK's cities at launch, increasing to 19 by the end of 2019.

You can find out everything about EE's 5G service right here.

When and where is the Stormzy 5G EE gig?

Stormzy will take to the stage at 21:30, BST (GMT+1), at a secret London location. If you're tuning in from other countries via the YouTube live stream, here are the equivalent times:

  • 21:30 UK (BST, GMT+1)
  • 22:30 Europe (CEST, CET+1)
  • 16:30 Eastern Time (ET)
  • 13:30 Pacific Time (PT) 

Can I livestream Stormzy's EE show?

EE will be livestreaming the event on its channel in a first of its kind, via the 5G network.

What will 5G offer?

5G is the next step on from 4G and will unlock a whole new work of mobile possibilities. It's a fast connection, but it's not just about speed. It's about connecting people with lower latency and giving the freedom for greater data transfers. That might be downloading video before you get on a flight, it might be streaming higher quality music or it might be a reliable video call to your mum.

The network is at day 1, so will be expanding and updating over the coming years. The dawn of 5G will bring with it innovations in technology that have not yet been realised and on the path to those you'll get to enjoy a more seamless experience that's faster and less frustrating.

Writing by Mike Lowe.