Apple has announced that 25 new countries will get their hands on the iPhone 5S and iPhone 5C smartphones from Friday 25 October, with a further 12 then receiving stock on 1 November. Finally, a last wave will hit on 3 November.

Among those to sell the phones from 25 October will be Ireland, Italy, Spain, Netherlands and New Zealand. India and Mexico will get them on 1 November.

Both the iPhone 5C and iPhone 5S are already available in the UK, US, Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, Puerto Rico and Singapore.

Apple revealed that on their initial launch weekend combined sales figures for the two handsets surpassed nine million units. Beating the iPhone 5 sales record substantially.

25 October: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, French West Indies, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Reunion Island, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan and Thailand.

1 November: Albania, Armenia, Colombia, El Salvador, Guam, Guatemala, India, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro and Turkey.

3 November: Bahrain, Saudi Arabia and UAE.