Pocket-lint is supported by its readers. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

(Pocket-lint) - Microsoft plans to announce "what's next for Windows” during a live-streamed event later today, 24 June.

The software giant has been teasing a major update to Windows which we now know to be called Windows 11.

At the Build 2021 conference in May, CEO Satya Nadella promised to share more "soon" and said it would be "the most significant update" to Windows in the past decade. He also said he has been self-hosting the update over the past several months, describing it as the "next generation of Windows".

When is Microsoft's Windows 11 event?

Microsoft's event will start at 11am ET today, 24 June 2021. For your reference, here's that time in different parts of the world:

  • New York: 11am
  • California: 8am
  • London: 4pm
  • Paris: 5pm
  • Berlin: 5pm
  • Sydney: 1am (25 June)
  • Tokyo: 12am (25 June)
  • Hong Kong: 11pm

How to watch Microsoft's Windows 11 event

The event will be available to stream from Microsft's website. It may also be available on its YouTube channel but we're yet to hear about that. Pocket-lint hopes to host the video above.

What to expect from Microsoft's event

Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella and chief product officer Panos Panay will be speakers at the Windows event.

Thanks to a total leak of a developer build of the operating system, we know it will be called Windows 11 and have some user interface differences, as part of an effort codenamed Sun Valley. There are new system icons and File Explorer upgrades.

We've been hands-on with the leaked build and we've published our first impressions of Windows 11

Keep in mind the company recently decided to close the door on Windows 10X, an OS specifically for dual-screen devices, and has instead chosen to fold the best of Windows 10X into Windows 11. As a result, there is a new app launcher in Windows 10 itself as well as a centralised taskbar (though you can put the icons back to the left if you want).

Pocket-lint will cover Microsoft’s Windows event later today, so stay tuned to our Microsoft hub for all the latest announcements.

Best laptop 2021: Top general and premium notebooks for working from home and more

Writing by Maggie Tillman. Editing by Dan Grabham. Originally published on 23 February 2019.