Pocket-lint is supported by its readers. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

(Pocket-lint) - Carl Pei's company, Nothing, will be unveiling its first product at a launch event on 27 July. The Ear 1 will finally be revealed at the end of this month. 

Nothing isn't giving too much away just yet, but in its invitation to media it said that it will "combine raw beauty and precise engineering for a pure sound experience". 

Nice and vague as that is, Nothing has given a hint as to what its products will look like and suggested strongly that there will be at least some transparent materials being used throughout its portfolio. 

When is the Nothing Ear 1 launch? 

Nothing will launch the Ear 1 at 14:00 BST (UK time) on 27 July, at which point they'll give us our first proper look at what features it has and what its finaly design is. We've listed a handful of other timezones below for your convenience: 

  • San Francisco, US - 06:00 PDT
  • Chicago, US - 08:00 CDT
  • New York, US - 09:00 EDT
  • Paris, Berlin, Barcelona - 15:00 CEST
  • Dubai, UAE - 17:00 GST
  • New Delhi, IND - 18:30 IST
  • Sydney, AUS - 23:00

How can I watch it? 

There are a couple of ways to watch the launch. Nothing will be hosting the stream on its own website, so you can watch it there. They've also partnered with YouTube channel, Unbox Therapy, to do a live stream there which we've embedded in the top of this page for you. 

What's expected

Over the first few months of this year, Nothing has been drip-feeding snippets of information about its plans for the coming year(s). 

We've known since May that its first product - a pair of true wireless earbuds - would be called Ear 1, and it was initially planned to launch in June. 

Clearly, plans have changed a little and the product has been delayed slightly. More recently, the company announced that it would be selling its first buds at Selfridges through its Smartech brand. 

We don't expect Nothing will stop at just earbuds, but there's a lot riding on the company's first product and a lot of pressure to get this first impression right. 

With its early messaging being all about stripping out the unecessary and leaving us with practical products with iconic-looking designs, the early talk has been bold.

Steelseries celebrates its 20th anniversary, a legacy of glory

Time will tell whether or not the first product lives up to all the hype.  

Writing by Cam Bunton. Originally published on 28 June 2021.