Pocket-lint is supported by its readers. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

(Pocket-lint) - Eevee is one of the most interesting Pokemon characters. Not only is it ridiculously cute, but it doesn't have a defined evolution path - and some of the Eevee evolutions have been the best Pokemon to take into battle - like Vaporeon. 

Right from the outset, Pokemon Go has offered a number of Eevee evolutions, expanding to five when the Johto region was added, and again to seven with the addition of Sinnoh region Pokemon. Most recently, Sylveon has been added.

Eevee is something of a rare Pokemon, so it's always worth catching for the candies, if not to evolve then to power-up. Of course, you'll also need 25 candy to make each of these evolutions. 

How to choose your Eevee evolution

Here are the Eevee evolutions that are available and the codename that you will need to choose who they turn into:

  • Vaporeon - Rainer
  • Jolteon - Sparky
  • Flareon - Pyro
  • Umbreon - Tamao
  • Espeon - Sakura
  • Leafeon - Linnea
  • Glaceon - Rea
  • Sylveon - Kira

Here's all you have to do:

  1. Open up your Pokemon collection and find an Eevee that's spare.
  2. Change the name from Eevee to the codename - so that's Linnea (for Leafeon) or Tamao (for Umbreon) for example - by tapping the pencil next to that character's name.
  3. You'll see that the Evolve button changes to the silhouette of that Pokemon.
  4. Hit the evolve button and your Eevee will change into the evolution of you choice.

If you don't change the name, the Eevee will evolve into any of the forms that are available in Pokemon Go: Vaporeon, Jolteon, Flareon, Umbreon, Espeon, Leafeon or Glaceon.

But what are these names you have to change? They are the names of the Pokemon owners, dug out from Pokelore. So, for example, Espeon was Sakura's, and one of her older sisters is Tamao, who owned Umbreon.

Best PS5 games 2021: Amazing PlayStation 5 titles to pick up

The original Eevee evolutions - Sparky, Rainer and Pyro - that you'll need to control evolution to Jolteon, Vaporeon and Flareon respectively, again come from the Eevee brothers in Pokemon anime.

Writing by Chris Hall. Originally published on 17 February 2017.