(Pocket-lint) - We're soon to find out the last remaining details of the PlayStation 5 ahead of its launch in a couple of months. 

Sony held a 'State of Play' event back in June when various games and the console design was revealed. This followed a technical briefing early in the year that gave us the impressive spec sheet for the console. 

Now though, we're ready for the final pieces of the jigsaw and you'll be able to watch along here with us. 

When is the PS5 Showcase?

The PlayStation 5 Showcase event will take place very soon today, Wednesday 16 September 2020, starting at the following times: 

  • US west coast: 1pm PDT
  • US east coast: 4pm EDT
  • UK: 9pm BST
  • Central Europe: 10pm CEST

How to watch the PS5 Showcase

You can watch it live via the video at the top of this page.

It is also being streamed on PlayStation's YouTube and Twitch channels.

What to expect during the PlayStation 5 Showcase

In a short blog post, PlayStation said the event will last around 40 minutes. It'll feature updates on the latest titles from both Sony Interactive Entertainment itself, plus third-party publishers.

There is no mention of other announcements around release date nor pricing, but then it was claimed the previous 'State of Play' event would only show us games. At the end of that video, two PS5 consoles were revealed - the standard version and PS5 Digital Edition.

With the recent release date, pricing and second console reveal from Xbox, it would be hugely surprising if Sony didn't respond.

As with the previous event, some elements could be streamed using Sony's 360 Reality Audio platform which plays all-round high-resolution spatial sounds which you can hear through decent stereo headphones.

Writing by Dan Grabham. Editing by Rik Henderson.