(Pocket-lint) - The rescheduled PlayStation 5 reveal event takes place shortly and we could finally see the console for the very first time.

Originally set for 4 June, it was postponed due to the ongoing protests in the US and in respect of the Black Lives Matter campaign. 

However, it is now back on and the excitement is building. You can watch it right here with us. We also give our thoughts on what to expect below.

When is the PS5 Future of Gaming reveal event?

The PlayStation 5 Future of Gaming event is online-only and the livestream will start later today, Thursday 11 June, at 4pm ET. Here are the times in your location:

  • West coast US: 1pm PT
  • East coast US: 4pm ET
  • UK: 9pm BST
  • Central Europe: 10pm CEST

How to watch the PS5 Future of Gaming reveal event

You can watch the livestream right here through the video at the top of the page.

Alternatively, it will also appear on PlayStation's YouTube and Twitch channels.

Here's a teaser video PlayStation released for the rescheduled event:

What to expect during the PlayStation 5 Future of Gaming event

In a blog post, PlayStation said we can expect its event to run "a bit more than an hour".

It will be pre-recorded and broadcast in 1080p and 30fps. There will also be "some cool audio work in the show" so you are advised to wear headphones.

We suspect that could mean some elements could be streamed using Sony's 360 Reality Audio platform which transmits high resolution spatial sounds able to be heard through stereo headphones. They sound like they are coming from all directions, rather than just left and right.

As for the content of the event, previous rumours suggested that Sony would entirely focus on the games. But we think that there is a good possibility of seeing hardware too. It could finally be the moment when we get to see the PS5 itself.

Join us later to find out.

Writing by Rik Henderson.