EA has announced the music tracks we can expect to hear on Fifa 09, hitting shelves on 2nd October.

The tracklisting boasts 42 songs from 21 nations across a number of genres to make sure the game showed off all sorts of music from across the globe.

Handpicked by the those in the know at EA, there's a nice mixture of well known acts and new artists that the company reckons "defines the sound of the coming football season".

This year’s soundtrack includes tracks from Scottish favourites, The Fratellis, and Irish trio, The Script. Other UK highlights come from The Ting Tings, Kasabian, The Kooks, Foals and Duffy.

"We have exceeded our annual challenge to create videogames' preeminent international soundtrack," said Steve Schnur, worldwide executive of music and marketing at EA.

"No other game has been as influential with regards to new music, and FIFA 09 truly raises the bar worldwide. We're excited that Brazilian fans of Curumin will hear Spain's The Pinker Tones and Norway’s Datarock. We’re proud that Canadians who love Chromeo will discover Ladytron from England and Junkie XL from Holland. We want fans throughout France, Mexico and Germany to find that their favourite new song is by Señor Flavio from Argentina, DJ Bitman from Chile or Jupiter One from New York. FIFA 09 will take music globalization to a whole new level."

The complete in-game soundtrack for FIFA 09 includes:

Dogs from V-Gas - 1ne (Italy)
Chromeo - Bonafied Lovin' (Yuksek Remix) (Canada)
CSS - Jager Yoga (Brazil)
Curumin Magrela (Brazil)
Cut Copy - Lights And Music (Australia)
Damian "Jr. Gong" Marley - Something For You (One Loaf Of Bread) (Jamaica)
Datarock - True Stories (Norway)
DJ Bitman - Me Gustan (Chile)
Duffy - Mercy (Wales)
Foals - Olympic Airways (England)
Gonzales - Working Together (Boys Noize Remix) (France)
Hot Chip - Ready For The Floor (Soulwax Remix) (England)
Jakobinarina - I'm A Villain (Iceland)
Junkie XL feat. Electrocute - Mad Pursuit (Holland)
Jupiter One - Platform Moon (USA)
Kasabian - Fast Fuse (England)
Ladytron - Runaway (England)
Lykke Li - I'm Good I'm Gone (Sweden)
Macaco - Movin' )Spain)
MGMT - Kids (USA)
My Federation - What Gods Are These (England)
Najwajean - Drive Me (Spain)
Plastilina Mosh - Let U Know (Mexico)
Radiopilot - Fahrrad (Germany)
Reverend And The Makers - Open Your Window (England)
Sam Sparro - Black & Gold (USA)
Señor Flavio - Lo Mejor Del Mundo (Argentina)
Soprano - Victory (France)
The Airborne Toxic Event - Gasoline (USA)
The Black Kids - I'm Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How To Dance With You (The Twelves Remix) (USA)
The Bloody Beetroots - Butter (Italy)
The Fratellis - Tell Me A Lie (Scotland)
The Heavy - That Kind Of Man (England)
The Kissaway Trail - 61 (Denmark)
The Kooks - Always Where I Need To Be (England)
The Pinker Tones - The Whistling Song (Spain)
The Script - The End Where I Begin (Ireland)
The Ting Tings - Keep Your Head (England)
The Veronicas - Untouched (Australia)
The Whip - Muzzle #1 (England)
Tom Jones - Feels Like Music (Junkie XL Remix) (Wales)
Ungdomskulen - Modern Drummer (Norway)

The game will be released across all platforms - PS3, Xbox 360, PS2, Nintendo Wii, DS and PSP, and even for mobiles.