Pocket-lint is supported by its readers. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

(Pocket-lint) - Summer Game Fest started on 10 June with a kick off show. And, over the next month or so, there will be more events, games news, launches, trailers and much more.

Sponsored by Amazon's Prime Gaming, it runs concurrently with E3 2021 and similarly has a healthy collection of games publishers and developers signed up to show off their wares.

So, how can you follow the action and what has been announced so far? We explain all.

What is Summer Game Fest?

Born from the pandemic and global lockdowns, Summer Game Fest started in 2020 to fill the void left by a cancelled E3.

It ran from May to August and featured publisher announcements, in-game events and an opening livestream that crammed in bundles of game info and trailers.

This year it runs for a shorter period and parallel to an all-digital E3.

Summer Game Fest started with a live kickoff show on Thursday 10 June. You can catch up with it again via the video above.

Other publisher events will take place over the following weeks and tie into the gaming festival. You can see all the confirmed events and times below.

Summer Game Fest 2021: How to keep track

Summer Game Fest is online-only with a number of key events taking place throughout June. Here are the highlights and the times they will start.

Summer Game Fest Kickoff live

The main show kicked off the event on Thursday 10 June. It was hosted by The Game Awards' Geoff Keighley and featured several live music performances, including Weezer.

You can watch the stream as it happened via the video at the top of this page.

Koch Primetime - 11 June

Koch Media will share some major news on its new label Prime Matter and details on its forthcoming games.

  • US west coast: 12pm PT
  • US east coast: 3pm ET
  • UK: 8pm BST
  • Europe: 9pm CEST

You can follow it live at weknowsomethingyoudontknow.com.

Ubisoft Forward - 12 June

Ubisoft's annual round-up event will stream online and show what's coming up from the brand in 2021 and beyond.

  • US west coast: 12pm PT
  • US east coast: 3pm ET
  • UK: 8pm BST
  • Europe: 9pm CEST

You can watch it here.

Devolver Digital - 12 June

This is Devolver's annual event and will showcase a stack of indie games coming soon.

  • US west coast: 1.30pm PT
  • US east coast: 4.30pm ET
  • UK: 9.30pm BST
  • Europe: 10.30pm CEST

Xbox & Bethesda Game Showcase - 13 June

Expect Halo: Infinite and Starfield trailers at the very least, plus plenty of other big announcements and trailers.

  • US west coast: 10am PT
  • US east coast: 1pm ET
  • UK: 6pm BST
  • Europe: 7pm CEST

You can watch it here.

Square Enix Presents - 13 June

  • US west coast: 12.15am PT
  • US east coast: 3.15pm ET
  • UK: 8.15pm BST
  • Europe: 9.15pm CEST

You can watch it here.

Top Nintendo Switch games 2021: Best Switch games every gamer must own

Xbox Summer Game Fest Demo event - 15 June

Xbox will be offering demos for over 40 ID@Xbox games on Xbox One and Xbox Series X/S for a week from 15 to 21 June.

Many will be very early access and all will be removed from the Xbox Dashboard again after the week is up.

Steam Next Fest - 16 June

Rather than one video event, Steam Next Fest is a six-day event tied into the Summer Game Fest. It will debut PC games trailers, developer interviews and offer exclusive demos for you to download and try out.

  • US west coast: 10am PT
  • US east coast: 1pm ET
  • UK: 6pm BST
  • Europe: 7pm CEST

EA Play Live

Electronic Arts will host its own online livestream, debuting many new games and given us updates on those in development.

We're yet to get exact timings, but you will be able to watch it here.

What's been launched at Summer Game Fest so far?

Several games and trailers have debuted at Summer Game Fest already. Here are our highlights:

Elden Ring

From Software's next epic is coming in January 2022, see what the fuss is about in the first gameplay trailer. You can also catch up with our coverage here: Everything you need to know about Elden Ring.

Tiny Tina's Wonderlands

A spin-off of Borderlands, Gearbox's latest stars Andy Samberg, Will Arnett, Wanda Sykes and Ashly Burch. That should be enough for most, let alone massive battles with dragons.

Death Stranding Director's Cut

Kojima's bizarre but beautiful delivery-em-up is coming to PS5 in remastered form. Although there are few details as, yet we doubt it'll be long before you get to see it on your console soon.

Vampire: The Masquerade Bloodhunt

Not to be confused with Bloodlines 2, this is a multiplayer battle royale set in the same universe. You compete with others to become the dominant vampire.

Tales of Arise

The latest JRPG in the Tales series is coming on 10 September for console and PC. It's looking rather spiffing if this trailer is anything to go by.

Jurassic World Evolution 2

Frontier returns to the Jurassic World franchise with this world-builder sequel. Sea creatures appear in the teaser above, so expect the possibilities to expand to water. And yes, Jeff Goldblum returns. Huzzah!

Lost Ark

The free-to-play MMORPG is coming to Europe and the US thanks to Amazon, which has picked it up for the territories.

Two Point Campus

The team behind the hilarious medical sim, Two-Point Hospital, is back and this time colleges are the focus. Expect more crazy antics as you get to build your own school.

The Anacrusis

The Anacrusis is a four-player co-op FPS set aboard a starship teaming with aliens. We particularly like the heavily-stylised 60s/70s look.

The Dark Pictures Anthology: House of Ashes

The third in the horror series will launch across all formats (bar Switch) on 22 October. It's looking great.

Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of Ruin

Monster Hunter Stories 2 looks more cartoony than previous outings. Should still be a massive hit, however.

Back 4 Blood

A new trailer for the four-player co-op zombie shooter was shown at Summer Game Fest. You can check it out above. We cannot wait to get our hands on the spiritual successor to Left 4 Dead.

Evil Dead: The Game

Evil Dead: The Game gets its first gameplay trailer. As with Back 4 Blood, its a four-player co-op action game, but in third-person this time.

Who is signed up for Summer Game Fest?

As well as the above, the following publishers have signed on to take part in the Summer Game Fest. Some are also taking part in E3 2021. Basically, June is going to be a great month for gamers.

  • 2K
  • Activision
  • Amazon Games
  • Annapurna Interactive
  • Bandai Namco Entertainment
  • Battlestate Games
  • Blizzard Entertainment
  • Capcom
  • Devolver Digital
  • Dotemu
  • Electronic Arts
  • Epic Games
  • Finji
  • Frontier
  • Gearbox Publishing
  • Hi-Rez Studios
  • Inner Sloth
  • Koch Media
  • Mediatonic
  • MiHoYo
  • PlayStation
  • Psyonix
  • Raw Fury
  • Riot Games
  • Saber Interactive
  • Sega
  • Steam
  • Square Enix
  • Tribeca Festival
  • Tencent Games
  • Warner Bros. Games
  • Ubisoft
  • Wizards of the Coast
  • Xbox
Writing by Rik Henderson.