Pocket-lint is supported by its readers. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

(Pocket-lint) - VW will soon be launching its next electric car, the ID.5. It will be coming in two varieties, the ID.5 and the ID.5 GTX - the dual motor version offering higher performance - while these models evolve the VW ID.4 launched in 2020

The ID.5 will offer a change in styling, with a coupe-style roofline, matching the Audi Q4 e-tron Sportback, which sits on the same platform.

Here's everything you need to know about the launch.

When will the ID.5 be launched?

The VW ID.5 and ID.5 GTX will be unveiled on 3 November at 14:00 CET. Here are the international times so you can tune in:

  • San Francisco - 06:00 PDT
  • New York - 09:00 EDT
  • London - 13:00 GMT
  • Berlin - 14:00 CEST
  • New Delhi - 18:30 IST
  • Tokyo - 22:00 JST
  • Sydney - 00:00 AEDT, 4 Nov

How to watch the VW ID.5 launch online

VW will be streaming the launch of the new ID.5. We have embedded the video stream at the top of this page so you can watch online.

What to expect from the ID.5 and ID.5 GTX launch

There are a number of different spec for the current ID.4, with a 52kWh or 77kWh battery, and 148, 170, or 204PS with the motor driving the rear wheels. We expect that to be the standard for the ID.5 too, the big change here being the rear design. 

VW might claim that it's more aerodynamic and that might mean there's a little more range to be had from this coupe version, but we're expecting things to be much the same as the SUV version. VW does say, however, that it's equipped with new hardware and software, so there might be some advancements over the ID.4 models.

The GTX will add a front motor too, and again we expect the performance figures to be close to the ID.4 GTX, while there's going to be some design elements to set these cars apart. On the ID.4 GTX that included a blue interior - we'd expect similar trim changes to set these cars apart. 

The GTX model is likely to continue with the 77kWh battery and 299PS. Each of the power configurations will likely have a number of different trim levels.

Writing by Chris Hall.