Have you ever sent a quick message that you quickly regretted?

Yeah, same here. It really makes us wish messenger services had, like, some sort of undo button. Enter: WhatsApp. Starting last year, it let you delete sent messages. But there are a couple of caveats to this much-welcomed feature, like that you had to delete it within the first seven minutes. However, WhatsApp just updated, and it increased this window for deleting sent messages by up to 10 times.

The feature, dubbed “delete for everyone”, now gives you more than an hour to delete any messages you send on the platform. According to WABetaInfoover on Twitter, WhatsApp has quietly pushed this change alongside bug fixes. You now have exactly 1 hour and 8 minutes and 16 seconds to delete a message after you send it, which is a weirdly specific amount of time for WhatsApp to choose.

There’s no reason given for why the time limit has been increased. 

How to delete sent WhatsApp messages

  1. Update and open the WhatsApp app on your phone.
  2. Go to the chat with the message you wish to delete.
  3. Tap and hold the message, then choose Delete from the menu.
  4. You can also select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  5. Then, tap Delete, and then tap Delete for Everyone.

Are there any limitations?

Yes. To delete a sent message, you must decide to do so within the first hour. So, you can't send a late message, then wake up the next morning, and erase it. Also, your recipient will see a "This message was deleted" notice, which won't look suspicious or anything. Furthermore, for messages to be deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp.

When will this feature be available?

It's now rolling out to WhatsApp users on Android, iPhone, and Windows Phone.

Want to know more?

Check out WhatApp's help center.