Spotify is holding an event today at which it will talk about "what's next" with its mobile app and wider music streaming service. The event will take place at 9am EST, that's 2pm BST and 3pm CEST. 

Since the company invited the media to its upcoming press event, rumours have swirled about what Spotify could have in store for us all. Will it unveil an in-car music controller? Will it announce a smart speaker? Sadly it seems not. At least, not yet. 

While it's still unclear why an app needs its own event, Spotify's latest event flyer does provide us with a few hints.

SpotifyThis Is What Spotify Will Announce At Its 24 April Event image 2

It states there will be presentations by Gustav Soderstrom, Spotify's chief research and development officer, as well as Babar Zafar, vice president of product development, and Troy Carter, global head of creative services.

Now, mind you, last month, it was discovered that Spotify has been testing a new voice search feature that lets you quickly access artists, tracks, albums, and playlists.

This voice search feature has been appearing inside the service's iOS app for some users. A few news sites have also been given early access to it, and they described it as a much-welcomed means of navigation in the app.

So, maybe we'll get a formal announcement of that feature. Plus, according to a Bloomberg report, Spotify has been working on several changes to its free subscription tier.

These changes should make the music service easier to use for those accessing it on mobile devices.

Liked this? Check out The best HomePod alternatives: Smart speakers to rival Apple HomePod