BT Business has launched a campaign to find and showcase the UK's most inspirational entrepreneurs.

BT Business Essence of the Entrepreneur celebrates the achievements of small businesses that have demonstrated exceptional dedication and have found new directions to succeed in business with the help of technology.

A panel of judges, including successful entrepreneurs and industry experts, will select the UK's 20 most impressive entrepreneurs. In addition, the judges will be looking for the best female entrepreneur, best male entrepreneur, the young entrepreneur of the year and the most original business concept.

The 20 most impressive will be photographed in their place of work by renowned photographer Perou, who has photographed celebrities from Coldplay and U2 through to Tracey Emin, Damien Hirst and David Beckham and was involved in the Essence of the Entrepreneur campaign in 2006. The series of 20 photographs will then feature in a high-profile exhibition in November at gallery@oxo, on London's South Bank.

Last year businesses from across the length and breadth of the UK entered the competition and the winners represented a diverse range of industries from garden design to a diet delivery service to a sausage manufacturing company.

Bill Murphy, managing director, BT Business, said: "SMEs are the lifeblood of the UK economy. We want to applaud their determination to succeed, celebrate the power of the idea, and capture the essence of their entrepreneurial spirit".

"As some of the images from last year's exhibition testify, Perou's work with the businesses will provide them with a striking visual identity, and us with an inspirational insight into their passion and commitment."

To qualify for the competition, businesses must submit their entries by Friday July 20 2007. They must be privately owned, employ fewer than 75 people and demonstrate that technology has played an essential part in the success of their business.

Full details of how to enter, along with terms and conditions and the gallery of 2006 winners visit the link below.