(Pocket-lint) - Apple revealed a new system-wide Messages feature designed to surface content previously shared with you with the release of iOS 15.
Appropriately called Shared with You, the feature currently works with six different Apple apps, such as Apple News. It's designed to make it easier for you to revisit things that friends and family send you in Messages - such as articles.
What is Shared with You?
It's easiest to think of Shared with You as an Apple Messages feature that creates a new "Shared with You" section in the Apple Photos app, Apple Music app, Apple News app, Safari app, Apple Podcasts app, and Apple TV app.
Any content shared with you in Messages will appear in these Apple apps under "Shared with You" for quick, easy access.
How does Shared with You work?
Basically, if a friend sends you a photo, playlist, article, site, podcast, or movie in Messages, you will see that content appear in the "Shared with You" sections of your Apple apps. For instance, shared photos will appear in the Photos app, and playlists will appear in the Music app, and articles will appear in the News app, and so on. It's straightforward.
The Shared with You section appears in the Listen Now tab of the Apple Music app. From there, you can easily play a shared playlist and even add it to your library.
The Share with You section appears in the Today tab of the Apple News app, under the Top Stories section. You can tap on the three dots below any shared story for a range of options, like Remove Share, Save Story, Copy Link or Reply.
In the Photos app, Shared with You content lives in the For You tab, as well as under Featured Photos and Memories. Photos shared with you are also automatically added to your library.
Interestingly, Apple said when it announced the feature that Photos is smart enough to bring over the pics you "actually care about" - so you won't have to worry about screenshots or memes clutter.
Any shared websites through Messages will appear in the tabs section of Safari, with a small line of text above them showing who shared them with you.
As for the TV app, it has a Shared with You row. This has all the movies and shows your friends shared in Messages.
For the Apple Podcasts app, just like others, there is a Share with You section that sits below the Up Next section at the top. You'll also see a small tag next to the podcast telling you who it was shared from.
Is that it?
Nope. You can also quickly pin content in Messages to elevate it in Shared with You. Neat.