While preparations for the Vodafone Pocket-lint Gadget Awards are in full swing, Apple has announced the shortlists for the iTunes Best Album & Song 2009.

Selected by the iTunes UK editorial team in London, the shortlists have been compiled from the thousands of singles and albums released on iTunes in 2009.  

While the winning album and song will be revealed in early December, you can have your say by voting for your favourites in the "People's Choice" categories published on the iTunes UK Facebook page.    

iTunes Best Album 2009 shortlist - Editor's choice

"Empire Of The Sun" - Empire Of The Sun
"Lungs" - Florence & The Machine
"West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum" - Kasabian
"La Roux" - La Roux
"Guns Don't Kill People, Lazers Do" - Major Lazer
"Sunny Side Up" - Paolo Nutini
"Primary Colours" - The Horrrors
"The Invisible" - The Invisible
"Conditions" - The Temper Trap
"The XX" - The XX

iTunes Best Song 2009 shortlist - Editor's choice

"My Girls" - Animal Collective
"That Golden Rule" - Biffy Clyro
"Boom Boom Pow" - Black Eyed Peas
"Bonkers" - Dizzee Rascal
"Heavy Cross" (Fred Falke Remix) - Gossip
"Tonight's Today" - Jack Penate
"Empire State Of Mind" - Jay-Z feat. Alicia Keys
"Use Somebody" - Kings Of Leon
"In For The Kill" - La Roux
"1901" - Phoenix