Despite some initial early technical difficulties with servers getting swamped as the download went live, by all accounts Mozilla's launch of the final release of Firefox 3 has been a rip-roaring success.

The total worldwide tally of Firefox 3 downloads currently stands at a fairly staggering 6,415,252, well up from the one and a half million who had "pledged" to download during the 24-hour "Download Day" in which the organisation hopes to set a Guinness World Record.

If you have not downloaded, and wish to do so in time to be a part of the world record, the deadline is 11:16am PDT (18:16 UTC) on 18 June 2008. That's 11:16am in Mountain View, 2:16pm in Toronto, 3:16pm in Rio de Janeiro, 8:16pm in Paris, Madrid, Berlin, Rome and Warsaw, 10:16pm in Moscow, and 19 June 2008 at 2:16am in Beijing and 3:16am in Tokyo.