HTC has officially confirmed that it will be revealing its next flagship handset on Tuesday 12 April. The forthcoming device from HTC doesn't yet have a name, although it's believed to be called HTC 10, going under the codename HTC Perfume during development. 

There's a catch however: this isn't going to be a big all-singing, all-dancing launch event, instead it's going to be a virtual reveal. The timing is set for 1pm London, 8am New York, 8pm Taipei. As it's online, it should mean that everyone will be able to watch it.

HTC surprised many by not revealing a flagship handset at Mobile World Congress recently, instead holding fire until this later date. Until recently there hadn't been too much revealed about the forthcoming device, but HTC started teasing details - talking up the camera and referring to the "power of 10" - while details have trickled out elsewhere.

You can expect a metal device with a chamfered rear edge and looking more like the One A9 than last year's flagship the M9. It is said to be powered by a Qualcomm Snapdragon 820 processor, with a 5.2-inch 2560 x 1440 pixel resolution display.

We expect the HTC 10 to run on Android Marshmallow with a new, lighter, version of Sense over the top, and we think there's a 12-megapixel camera on the rear. 

We've been tracking these rumours for some time, and now have a launch date to add into the mix. Mark your calendars for 12 April, and head over to read up on what to expect.

READ: HTC 10/M10/Perfume: Release date, rumours and everything you need to know