New Twitter features cater to verified users, lets them easily see their own verified followers

Twtter has added two new features that'll let people engage more easily. Well, they're not just for anybody. They're for verified users only.

The micro-blogging social network has announced that its mobile apps will now alert verified users when another verified user follows them. This feature will work on both the Android and iPhone apps. The second new feature is an option for verified users to view verified followers directly from their own profiles, though they will only be able to do so on the Twitter for iOS app.

"Similar to how we help businesses make advertising simple and effective on Twitter, we occasionally build features that enable these public figures - verified users - to engage more easily with the world through Twitter," explained Twitter in a blog post published on 13 August. "We hope these two features will help verified users easily connect with each other so we can continue to deliver those only-on-Twitter conversations to users."

READ: Twitter's verified users can now filter out mentions from regular users

Features just for verified users aren't new on Twitter. For instance, last autumn, Twitter announced a new feature that lets verified users sift through their mentions. More specifically, verified users received options for filtering mentions from unverified users (aka a regular user/average person) and spam bots. How was this possible, you may ask? In the Connect tab on the web, Twitter added the ability to toggle between categories: all, filtered, and verified.

Like Twitter, Facebook is another company recently catering to verified users. To enhance the fan-interaction experience for public figures, for instance, Facebook introduced a new Facebook Creative Labs app in July called Facebook Mentions. Public figures can use it to communicate with their fans and view mentions from other public figures and the media.