Android 4.3 and Nexus 7 2 launch: Watch the Google Announcement Event right here

Update: The event has finished and Google announced the new Nexus 7, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean and Chromecast, a new small device that plugs into a TV set and can play streamed content from YouTube, Netflix and other applications. The live stream is no longer accessible, but you can check out our content on the launch in a number of key stories:

What's new in Android 4.3 Jelly Bean?

Google Chromecast brings online entertainment to your dumb television

Nexus 7 2 official: Quad-core, 1920 x 1200 LCD screen and 5-megapixel camera

Previous story:

Google is expected to announce both the latest version of Android - Android 4.3 Jelly Bean - and the new Nexus 7 tablet device from Asus during a breakfast event with head of Android and Chrome Sundar Pichai in San Francisco today.

The action kicks off at 9am PST, 12pm EST and 5pm BST and you can watch it all happen live right here. The event will be streamed, so make sure you've got your bowl of Sugar Puffs at the ready as you lounge about in your dressing gown listening to Google's plans. Admittedly, that works better on Californian time, not so in the UK, but you know what we mean.

In the meantime, while you're waiting for it to start, you can check out Pocket-lint's handy guides to the Nexus 7 tablets. We've posted everything you need to know in one place, and have compared its specification line-up to the former model in our Nexus 7 2 vs Nexus 7: What's the difference? feature.

We will also be bringing you the news throughout the event, so even if you don't have time to sit through the feed, check back on the site regularly.