Rogue Facebook app claims to show who's been looking at your profile

Internet security specialist Sophos has issued a warning regarding a Facebook scam that is currently doing the rounds.

Now, we know what you're thinking; "Who actually falls for these scams?", but the numbers suggest that quite a few people do - around 60,000 people to be precise.

The scam comes courtesy of a message on your wall from one of your pals that reads: "OMG OMG OMG... I cant believe this actually works! Now you really can see who viewed your profile!"

You're given a link to an app and, after agreeing that the app can access your Facebook data, you're none the wiser as to who is checking out your profile - but you have opened up your profile (and all your private data) to the scammers behind the rogue app.

You'll also be inadvertently spamming up you friend's walls with the "OMG" message.

"Scams like this have been used to earn commission for the mischief makers behind them, who have no qualms about using your Facebook profile to spread their spammy links even further", said Graham Cluley, senior technology consultant at Sophos.

"Always think before you add an unknown application on Facebook, and ask yourself if you're really comfortable with ceding such power to complete strangers. Rogue application attacks like this, spreading virally, are becoming increasingly common - and do no good for anyone apart from the scammers behind them".

If you have been a victim of this scam, then you'll need to revoke the app's access in your privacy settings.

Facebook has been made aware of the rogue app, and it should be closed down soon.



>