Summer is always great for games fans. That's because the world's biggest gaming show, E3 2018, opens its doors to the press, trade and public on 12 June.

As usual, there will be several key announcements on days building up to the show itself, from the world's biggest publishers, and Pocket-lint will be there to report back live.

But what should you expect? Here we round up some of the rumours and confirmed details for E3 2018, including some of the games we think will be there, even new consoles that might make a surprise appearance.

E3 is a three-day expo for games, with many of the world's biggest publishers and console manufacturers showing the titles that will be coming out later in 2018 and beyond. Some games are announced for the very first time during the show, and many are available to go hands-on with.

It is being held in Los Angeles at the LA Convention Center from Tuesday 12 June to Thursday 14.

This year, entrance passes are split into two categories: one for public, another for industry attendees. The latter includes press. That's because industry attendees can enter the show early on the first two days to conduct business before the public arrives.

  • Tuesday 12 June: 11am - 7pm PDT (industry), 2pm - 7pm PDT (public)
  • Wednesday 13 June: 9am - 7pm PDT (industry), 12pm - 7pm PDT (public)
  • Thursday 14 June: 9am - 6pm PDT (industry & public)

The major press conferences are usually held from the weekend prior to the show and most often off site.

Pocket-lintE3 2017 All The Games And Announcements That Matter image 2

As with every year, several major publishers, plus PlayStation and Xbox, host press events on the days leading up to E3. Some even host their own events throughout the week, away from the hustle and bustle of the LACC.

Here are the confirmed and yet-to-be confirmed press events, plus their dates and times. They will all undoubtedly be livestreamed online too. Information on how to watch them will be added closer to the time.

The Bethesda press event will be held on the Sunday prior to the show itself. As with last year, fans will be able to register to attend alongside media.

  • Date: Sunday 10 June
  • Time: 6.30pm PDT (9:30pm EDT, 2.30am BST 11 June)

For the last few years, EA has hosted its own sister event off site. It will kick off the weekend with an EA Play press conference highlighting the games it expects to show.

  • Date: Saturday 9 June
  • Time: 11am PDT (2pm EDT, 7pm BST)

Nintendo hasn't held an actual press conference, as such, for a fair few years now. It does, however, host streamed video presentations during the show. Including three days of live streams coming from the "Nintendo Treehouse" on its E3 stand. These will include producer chats and much more.

The main presentation, though, will be held on the first day of the show and will show Nintendo Switch games that are coming out for the rest of 2018. You will be able to view it on Nintendo's dedicated E3 website or its YouTube channel.

  • Date: Tuesday 12 June
  • Time: 9am PDT (12pm EDT, 5pm BST)

Sony has announced that its E3 press event this year will be slightly different to the ones of the last two years. Those were mainly just a stream of new games trailers, which received mixed reports.

Instead, it will be doing deep dive previews of four of its in-house, Sony Worldwide Studios games: Death Stranding, Ghost of Tsushima, Spider-Man and... wait for it... The Last of Us Part II. There will also be announcements from some third-party publishers too.

The event will be streamed online at live.playstation.com, plus Twitch, YouTube and all the general online locations (Pocket-lint too).

  • Date: Monday 11 June
  • Time: 6pm PDT (9pm EDT, 2am BST 12 June)

Like Nintendo, Square Enix will be streaming a pre-recorded "Showcase" presentation rather than host an actual press event in LA. It will be found at e3.square-enix-games.com and cover its "exciting line-up for E3".

  • Date: Monday 11 June
  • Time: 10am PDT (1pm EDT, 6PM BST)

Ubisoft has confirmed that it will be hosting a livestream of its event, with details to be unveiled closer to the time.

  • Date: Monday 11 June
  • Time: 1pm PDT (4pm EDT, 9pm BST)

Microsoft will be hosting its annual E3 2018 media briefing on the Sunday. It'll take place at lunchtime, local time, roughly the same as last year although it is moving from the traditional Galen Center to the Microsoft Theater.

  • Date: Sunday 10 June
  • Time: 1pm PDT (4pm EDT, 9pm BST)

Here are the main games we have either heard will be at E3 2018 or fully expect. We'll add to this list as more are announced or rumoured.

Bioware/EAE3 2017 All The Games And Announcements That Matter image 3
  • Anthem (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
  • Below (Xbox One, PC)
  • Borderlands 3 (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
  • Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 (PS4, Xbox One, PC, Switch)
  • Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker (Switch)
  • Crackdown 3 (Xbox One)
  • Cyberpunk 2077 (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
  • Days Gone (PS4)
  • Death Stranding (PS4)
  • FIFA 19 (PS4, Xbox One, PC, Switch)
  • Ghost of Tsushima (PS4)
  • Kingdom Hearts 3 (PS4, Xbox One)
  • Metroid Prime 4 (Switch)
  • Overkill's The Walking Dead (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
  • Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
  • Project Octopath Traveler (Switch)
  • Rollercoaster Tycoon Switch (Switch)
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
  • Skull & Bones (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
  • Spider-Man (PS4)
  • Spyro Reignited Trilogy (PS4, Xbox One)
  • Super Smash Bros (Switch)
  • The Banner Saga 3 (PS4, Xbox One, PC, Switch)
  • The Crew 2 (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
  • The Division 2 (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
  • The Last of Us 2 (PS4)
  • Tropico 6 (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
  • WWE 2K19 (PS4, Xbox One, PC, Switch)

While we always learn about certain games ahead of E3, there are several we hope for even though the chances are slim. The same applies to hardware. Here then is our wishlist for E3 2018 outings.

RockstarE3 2017 All The Games And Announcements That Matter image 4

We've been talking about this for the last couple of years and, of course, it'll be released in October. However, we put it in this section as Rockstar traditionally gives E3 a wide berth and you rarely get a glimpse of any of its games during the show. Here's hoping it appears at one of the major manufacturer press conferences though.

With HTC unveiling the Vive Pro at CES in January it's up to Oculus to show us the follow up to the, now dated, Oculus Rift.

Sadly, Shawn Layden of Sony Worldwide Studios has confirmed that PlayStation has no intentions of showing any hardware at its E3 2018 Showcase. So the much-rumoured PS5 is more likely to appear at E3 2019.

Yeah, we know.

We'll add more to our wishlist as they occur to us. If there are games or hardware you would like to see announced or shown at E3 this year, let us know in the comments below.